Today on my walk I made the mistake of wandering out into the wilds of Ardmore, where I encountered a citizen who had a million or so questions about a 1948 picture she had found on Digital Forsyth of Baptist Hospital. We started our tour at the Nurse’s Home, and I amazed myself that I could remember where most things had been. So I thought I had better do a blog post before I forget.

Baptist Hospital / Bowman Gray School of Medicine and environs, 1948:

BaptistHosp1948

As always, click the pic for full size

I added a contemporary image to indicate the only three buildings in the 1948 image that are still standing. All others are long gone.

More on the early days of Baptist Hospital and some great pix of early nursing students:

https://northcarolinaroom.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/baptist-genesis-1923/

